Mellow Mushroom Has Vegan Pizza

by Kortney Campbell on March 29, 2012

So, I want to take a minute to express to you how much I love Mellow Mushroom. My adoration started pre-veganism & has never stopped. When I first gave up animal products, I would get hummus in place of cheese & olive oil in place of red sauce with a crap load of veggies & the best tempeh ever. However I recently visited, and they’ve stepped their game up. Ready for this? They now have Daiya AND gluten-free crust (UPDATE: the gf crust ingredients list on their website says that it contains eggs. I have been told that it is now vegan, but PLEASE confirm this when you go). My life is complete.

I didn’t try the gluten-free crust yet because it only comes in a large, but of course I had the Daiya. It was a girls night with two of my best friends. They stuck to their meaty meals & a post-feast stomach ache, but I made my own pizza & (being the good wifey I am), brought one home for John.  Their vegetables are so fresh & have I mentioned the tempeh is the best I’ve ever had? Yeah…they don’t mess around.

If you haven’t tried Mellow Mushroom yet, I highly suggest it. Check out their website for location details. Maybe we’ll run into each other at dinner sometime!

About Kortney Campbell

I'm Kortney; a wife, natural mama and vegan in love with life, food and all things vintage! I've been vegan since December 2007, but have loved to cook & create pretty things since before I can remember. I started Vegan Housewives because I don't think you have to give up the joys of food when going vegan! I have a fondness for re-creating non-vegan recipes (especially my grandma's), making a healthier & animal friendly version so be sure to send me your favorite concoctions by clicking our "share a recipe" button - I would LOVE to veg-i-fy them!

  • { 7 comments… read them below or add one }

    Nadia March 29, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    I love their calzones!


    susie May 2, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    FYI – GF crust at Mellow Mushroom has eggs in it, so it’s not vegan… sorry to be the bearer of bad news. :(


    VeganHousewives May 3, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    That’s a bummer. We heard it may not be vegan, but good to have the definite answer!


    James January 25, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    I called my local mellow mushroom and they say the gluten free pizza crust is completely animal free.


    Kortney Campbell January 26, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    No way! This is awesome news!! Thanks for sharing, James!


    Doreen May 12, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    The ingredients list on the menu lists eggs as an ingredient.


    Kortney Campbell May 12, 2014 at 5:12 pm

    Hi Doreen, That is for the GF crust. The regular crust is vegan. Also, I have heard from a Mellow Mushroom that the GF crust is recently vegan as well, but can’t confirm that as I haven’t looked into it.


    Leave a Comment

    Previous post:

    Next post: